RSS

Oh what BEAUTIFUL weather!

22 Jun

Around here the weather has been down right oppressive lately.  The humidity was just insane…I am not made for such humidity!  But today it was LOVELY!  We had a good rain last night-oh how we needed the rain!  And then glory! today was one of those days where you just can’t help but find things to do so you can be outside.

Today my Honey Bear was out of town working (did I mention that I work with my Honey Bear?) so I had a pretty productive day filing (I so hate filing) and called it a day a bit early so I could head up to visit the long-neglected Stella because who wants to hang out in a barn when it’s 95+ and the humidity makes it feel like 115*?  I don’t think she wanted to see much of me either at that point.  But today!  Now that was her lucky day!

Stella and I have an interesting relationship…she’s a total doll as long as she doesn’t think you’re going to ride her.  She loves attention to no end, and never fails to come running full tilt from grazing in the field when I call for her.  But you put a saddle on her, and her chubby self becomes a whole different animal.  I love her…but uff dah she’s a bugger!  And while I love to ride, I am not as skilled as I’d like to be.  So now you have the backdrop to our ride for this evening.  It was eventful to say the least…Stella proved that it in fact, IS possible to dodge, dip, duck, dive, and dodge all at the same time.  We put on quite the rodeo in the arena before she finally decided I was there to stay, then my sweet girl came back out to play.  Here’s her rolling for all she was worth once we were finished.  Oh Stella, you never give me a dull moment…

AND I got to farm tonight!  Ok, so I don’t so much FARM as I “farm”.  My great-aunt Jeannie always told us she was out “farming” while working in her garden and yard and it’s kind of stuck with me too.  So, tonight my poor neglected crops got some attention and I got a few more minutes of fresh air, praise God!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Animals

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Oh what BEAUTIFUL weather!

  1. saultdogblog

    July 12, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    Oh, horses can be so much like dogs, eh? So full of personality. I bet Stella rolled right after a good grooming, too!

     
    • midwestheaven

      July 13, 2012 at 4:25 am

      Yes, they both make me so happy in their own ways. Stella thoroughly enjoys a good groom, followed by immediately covering herself in a healthy coat of dirt…I mean, who wouldn’t???

       
      • saultdogblog

        July 13, 2012 at 3:46 pm

        I hear ya! This summer, I’m working with a (permanently stained) Perlino QH/Morgan.

         

Leave a comment