RSS

Dog Show Newbie

08 Jul

Two years ago, when we brought our long-awaited new puppy Spartacus home, I never imagined how much he would change things around our home.  My Honey Bear always had wanted a bulldog…a bulldog which MUST be named Spartacus.  Now, I love dogs, truly love them, and fully inteded on getting my very own dog as soon as I could, so we when we got married I certainly agreed with getting a dog…but a BULLDOG?  I grew up with labs, a Germain shorthair, and a brittany, you know–hunting dogs.  So when he insisted on a bulldog I wasn’t quite sure what to think…but if that was what he insisted on to let me have a dog I was in!

And so the search began for a little male bulldog puppy that could live up to the name of Spartacus.  After a few dead ends, much learning, and a little over a year’s time we found our little guy.  While we had never expected anything more than a pet, his breeder Mary felt otherwise about him and hoped we would be willing to let him be shown in conformation (breed) shows.  If you’ve never been to a show, or seen one on TV, I’ll be sharing a bit more about how dog shows work in upcoming posts.  If you’ve seen the mockumentary, Best in Show….well, my experience hasn’t been anything like that.  But then again, I’m a newbie, and I show a bulldog…we’re a different crowd.  Anyway, Mary, also offered to mentor us if we would prefer to learn the ropes and show him ourselves.  So with that I headed off to a few handling classes, and armed with a few tips from Mary, started practicing. 

By the time our first show came around I was so excited…and so very hooked!  It’s a story not too different from the beginnings of many of the owner/handlers you’ll fine in the ring.  Since that first show a little over a year ago, Spartacus and I have entered the world of obedience and rally showing as well.  Sparty’s earned two rally titles, is on his way to his first obedience title, and has 4 points toward his Championship.  I’ve fallen in love with both breed competition, as well as the performance events and you could say showing has become a bit of an obsession.  I’m ok with that–I feel like it’s where I belong.  I love training with my dog, seeing him pick up new skills, and performing beautifully in the ring.  I have a TON to learn, and since showing often requires a lot of travel, don’t get to do it as much as I would like…something that few people outside of the dog show community quite understand.  Maybe with this blog, I can shed a little light on why I love it so much, and who knows…maybe someone out there will decide to try it too.

Oh, here’s my baby…isn’t he a cutie???

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Animals

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment